Exploring Lyon

This past weekend I stayed in Lyon and did some of my own exploring. It was nice to get a chance to see some more of the city that we have been living in. I visited one of the local morning markets which was right on the edge of the Saône river and was really gorgeous. It was bustling with people just going about their daily routines going to get their groceries for the week. There were vendors selling local produce, olives, dried fruits, rotisserie chickens, cheese, sausages, breads, flowers but all of it was local and just ablaze with color. As you walked down the middle of it there were almost too many things to look at. I got some fresh strawberries and they were really delicious. It’s such a change of habits that the French go and do their shopping at local markets like this, instead of going to large grocery stores like American’s typically do. The French typically go shopping more often but the quality of products they are getting at these local markets is ten-fold that of the US products. I wish there were more markets like this French one in the US. The people in this market were often in a bit of hurry and it made me realize that this is so normal for them but to me it was a complete anomaly. It just goes to show not to take things for granted anywhere you go.

Leave a comment